Poets logo

Candy

*

By Christy MunsonPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
9
Candy
Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

A twisted wrapper tossed aside bobbles toward the shore

I’ve seen that candy pass my lips and felt the want for more

I thought of you and her a while and tried not to regret

The things I did when I was young, in love, and deep in debt

_________

I’ve seen that candy pass my lips and felt the want for more

A foolish thing to want the one who can be yours no more

I gave you up, I let it go, I dreamed another dream

I struggled hard against the tide to walk without your lead

_________

I thought of you and her a while and tried not to regret

The me I was when you were mine, before you two had met

Truth is pure, if hard to take, and therein lies the rub

You were never mine to lose – your body’s not your love

_________

The things I did when I was young, in love, and deep in debt

I’d do again, yes, even now, knowing what I’d get

__________________

Copyright © 05/08/2002 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    "I thought of you and her a while and tried not to regret The me I was when you were mine, before you two had met Truth is pure, if hard to take, and therein lies the rub You were never mine to lose – your body’s not your love" This stanza hit me so hard because it was so relatable! Loved your poem so much!

  • John Cox13 days ago

    This poem is like candy on my tongue....

  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    excellent

  • ema14 days ago

    Nostalgic and beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.