Poets logo

Can I have my key back

Poem: J Series

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Can I have my key back
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I gave this key to you as a sign of hope,

But I am out of all that now,

Where once stood conflict to overcome,

Is somewhere lost in the crowds,

Instead, we replace with silence,

A battle not worth the fight,

Acceptance in its earliest form of light,

You can say these words that are aimed for a reaction,

Trying to set the mood, create the story line to this caption,

When I just turn you off,

I hear the words that you say,

I think, okay,

Those are just your opinions,

Its easier to not react, create distance,

Because your words may cut,

But only if I let you have the knife,

We can fight,

Or you can just be right,

You won't actually hear the words that I am telling you,

You will be caught up in your angry blur,

So, what is the point,

I am not going to change, By your chosen words,

What I have to say, won't actually be heard,

You already made me feel like you have never known me,

Honestly, that is mutually agreed,

Because I don't really know you,

Especially don't see things the way you do,

I accept you for you,

But not for how it binds me with you too,

Because we are different,

And that is okay in many ways,

But in this case, it is irrelevant because our outlook on this won't change,

You don't have to know the way I calculate everything,

I don't need to know what you spend on things,

This doesn't have to be,

If only it were that simple,

If only your not a key component to my thoughts,

if only it wouldn't be considered another year lost,

And a loss of another person I'm my life,

Another could have been that wasn't worth the fight,

A person who I shared laughs and hammocks with,

A person where we shared a worthwhile kiss,

In that case it would be simple,

I could walk away as if I didn't know you,

But I wouldn't want to,

But what does this change,

I always come back to the same place,

You are not whom I feel 100 percent safe with,

You are not where my heart will continue to live,

You are not who I will always share love with,

With you I don't believe in your acceptance,

or when you say "I love you"

I wish it wasn't true,

That we could stay in the feeling of playing catch,

not the mindset of how long this will last,

Not the thought of can I have my key back,

But this is where we are at.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.