Poets logo

Call of the Sea

Quell your mutinous thoughts

By Phil FlanneryPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
8
Call of the Sea
Photo by Bas Glaap on Unsplash

Arrhh me hearties

Beware the dread pirates

Careful me lads

Death follows the call

Ease yourself quietly, off’a the beaches

For if they spy you

God awaits you all

Heave up your anchors, slip into the evenin’

Into the darkness, where safety awaits

Just keep a good eye upon the horizon

Keep good your vigil, make no mistakes.

Left are you sweethearts

Mothers and children

Next time you see ‘em, give ‘em all your love

Oceans are deep, and damn’d unforgivin’

Precious the time when you’re back in the cove

Queens and Kings don’t care for their subjects

Riches and glory are all they desire

Serfs and sailors are bound to their duty

Till coffers are full, the binds remain tied

Usurp the bastards, let’s cry ‘revolution’

Voice your objection to King and to crown

We all want our freedom let’s put out the call

Xeniality to all who will follow us down

Yet from the distance, we see the guns flashin’

Zealots and patriots for King and for crown

Author's note:

Well there was my attempt at the alphabet challenge. I am reasonably happy with the rhythm. Xeniality was a stretch though.

Ballad
8

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    I love it when I don't know that it is an abecedarian until the end! Great! Thank you!❤️

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    X was always cumbersome, I tried a few! But I thought this was great.

  • Ken_kudu3 months ago

    Let’s engage with each other

  • I love this pirate poem! I’ve only met Abecedarian poetry, but this is such a fun ballad! “Arrhh me hearties Beware the dread pirates Careful me lads Death follows the call Ease yourself quietly, off’a the beaches For if they spy you God awaits you all.” Some Library Self Loan Stations have commands in various languages… Pirate is an all time favourite of children and youths!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    OHHHH! I love me some pirates, the rascals of the sea. It's poetry, you can use fake words and stretch em and shorten em. Ahoy me matey, this was really piratically great.

  • Ava Mack3 months ago

    Wonderfully done, Phil!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Shh! Xeniality was a triumph! 😁

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    loved the feel of the sea and the story!!!

  • Rene Volpi 3 months ago

    Very good effort. It was fun to read too. Fair winds!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.