Poets logo

Caffeine & Heartbreak

another ode, of sorts

By JPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Coffee & Cigarettes - Jim Jarmusch

One convinces me I am awake

One, that I am alive

Neither necessary

Or conducive

To either/or

Both pursued with fervour

Just the same

Stream of ConsciousnessProseOdeheartbreak
6

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    Succint but powerful, and the re-read made it hit home J. Nice! Like your point about neither being conducive or necessary too.

  • Short, but stuck with me. Loved it!

  • Nope, don't need a heartbreak to tell I'm alive. Heartbreak is not welcome for me, lol. Loved your poem!

  • This one left me pondering. The best written poems always leave me pondering. Like a fine tuned riddle that no one ever guesses but deep down everyone knows the answer. Excellent work J.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    And without them, how would we know? Well done?

  • C. Rommial Butler3 months ago

    I felt this in my heart as warm regard and in my belly as a laugh! Well-wrought!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.