Poets logo

Cactus shadows

Car therapy

By Scrub Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Cactus shadows
Photo by Clarisse Meyer on Unsplash

There’s no way to describe the magic and freedom of driving in the desert with the full moon. The way the moon casts shadows of the cacti. The shaggy trees. The relief of the cool desert air. With stars above that looks like glitter in the sky with the moon so bright. In an old corolla humming. Going through the windy roads with ease feeling each curve and dip. Having the radio so loud it’s the only thing I can hear in my mind. In my thoughts. Is the music that echoes off the mountains. The headlights cast over the black asphalt with the white lines that are supposed to keep you in your lane. Even when I feel free. I like feeling guided through the darkness. As if there was someone watching out for me beyond the headlights , but that’s all there is. Is darkness. Nobody is waiting to show me the way. Nobody is making sure that there’s nothing that could hurt me ahead. It’s just me, the darkness and the false security.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Scrub

welcome to my mediocre monologue

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.