Poets logo

Bystander

a painful confession

By R.C. TaylorPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
9
Bystander
Photo by Dương Trần Quốc on Unsplash

While you quietly watched,

my lover crawled up my throat

like a blossoming rose,

thorns nailing my tongue as I suffocated.

His rage was a storm that fed

the parasitic but beautiful flower,

a deluge of dizzying words meant

to crush me further.

But not so dizzying that they

couldn't be seen for the inclement

weather they were by anyone truly watching.

And you were—watching, that is.

But you would say nothing.

Even when I desperately tried

to meet your eyes, pleading for help.

You would say nothing.

To me. To him.

Nothing.

You never interrupted.

Often, you'd walk away,

leaving me to deal with the forces

of nature waging war alone

and often he'd use your silence

as a weapon against me since

that must mean that he was right

if my own friend did not speak up for me.

And it is difficult to admit that in me,

there will always be both inner child

and adult is crying out in tandem to you,

one who I had protected so many times before:

Why did you not protect me

when I couldn't protect myself?

Why did you leave me alone?

Why did you choose to be a bystander

in the destruction of myself?

social commentarysad poetryheartbreak
9

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure and other affairs of the heart).

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Twisting that rose into words of woe: what an excellent piece. Your words dig deep.

  • Ibeto Prince10 months ago

    nice

  • Nova E.11 months ago

    I love what you do with words!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Very well done 💔

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    oh this is so sad and powerful! there are many breathtaking lines

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.