Poets logo

The Night After I Killed Myself

a letter to myself

By R.C. TaylorPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - May 2023
50
The Night After I Killed Myself
Photo by kazuend on Unsplash

Dear Me,

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The night after I killed myself,

dreams woke me up and I found

myself across the country in my mother’s

bedroom where she was sound asleep,

nestled in sea foam sheets,

and our family cat, once all black

but now with starry night, pepper fur,

was the only one who saw me

from where she was curled up

at her feet, yellow eyes spotlighting

me in the dark.

When sleeping, my mother looked

very different, all her worried furrows

smoothed out by the sandman’s thumb.

Her laugh lines were welcome newcomers

as she had only just been learning

how to laugh again after a hard life.

Suddenly, her cocker spaniel

rocketed in the room, based on pure

instinct and empathy. Tail tucked between his

legs, he howled a sound I had never

heard him make before, transfixed

on me hovering above her.

It sounded like a woman wailing.

Gasping, my mother awoke, our

eyes meeting, and then the force

of her guttural scream propelled me.

I rose.

By Debby Hudson on Unsplash

The night after I killed myself,

time lost all meaning and the same

moment I was with my mother,

I was sent back years ago to the hospital

room that my Grammy was in

which I never got to visit.

Before she took her last breath,

she mumbled my name and was gone,

whisked from sight, leaving nothing

but a bed with tangled sheets and IV behind.

When I blinked, I was above the roof

of her old house, and instead of her waiting there

I found nothing but yellow warblers

and frantic squirrels watching me

and a Blue sedan parked in the driveway.

Someone else lived there now,

but I could hear our laughter echoing

out from the house from our last video call,

a swan song symphony played just for me,

so beautiful because I could hear her voice again

after being starved of it for so long.

When she spoke, she said she was incredibly

proud of me and would always be, and that she

would be here for me as long as she could.

I listened to what I said. I had forgotten.

I listened and listened as it played us talking

on repeat, her spoon hitting her cup,

searching for more tea and words

like a broken tape recorder.

Reunion after death seemed to be a cruel myth,

Remembrance was almost as beautiful in its place.

By Niklas Weiss on Unsplash

The night after I killed myself,

I took the coins they placed over my eyes

and used them as bus fare to go to my childhood home.

When I tried to place the money in,

a separate bus ran intangibly through the first,

sweeping me up into the sky in a dizzying ride.

If I wanted, I could reach out my hand

and touch the wings of a bird or sample the clouds.

The little things, like cool mist on my

face and tongue had never

before been so refreshing.

We passed each of our homes since

the shelter as if they were only minutes

apart until we landed on the one.

This house was where I had finally been able to be a child.

This one had a grove of magnolia trees that

bore pine cones like fruit and one of our

childhood dogs loved to carry them

around in his mouth like a security blanket.

There was also an out of place bamboo forest

that my mother always fretted would overtake

us if not kept in check so my brother

and I would cut them down and use the

stalks and constantly appearing baby shoots.

Then we’d play pretend, and that’s where

I learned to weave baskets, make flutes, and build

makeshift shelters that kept out the rain

and housed our imaginations.

We’d just sit there and listen to the forest breathe

around us, while rain made xylophones

out of the hollow bamboo as we smiled

so hard my cheeks hurt still as if it just happened again.

By Geetanjal Khanna on Unsplash

The night after I killed myself,

I laid on a cliff by the sea, tasted the ocean spray

and rain on my childishly stuck out tongue,

I splashed in puddles and spun around until I was dizzy,

and fell back laughing, until the sound faded.

In the silence I was left staring up at

the swollen storm clouds, letting their deluge

baptize me. I had fallen in love with my mother

and my brother, and the way that my Grandmother

had forever shaped me. I had fallen out of

and in love with the pain and joys of life again,

but it was already too late.

And nothing could take back what I had done.

Rest in Power,

Yourself

___________________________________

Thank you for reading. I wrote a single line of this poem every time I had a suicidal thought. I wrote this to remind myself to not kill myself.

RESOURCE

If you are ever thinking of harming yourself please dial 9-8-8. Similar to when you call 911 for an emergency, please call or text 988 if you're experiencing a mental health emergency.

____________________________________________________

COGNITIVE DISSONANCE:

If you're interested in checking out my debut chapbook regarding my experience with an unhealthy relationship you can check out this wonderful review here:

and can order a physical copy and/or PDF using the link below:

https://forms.gle/D3hcdQ6jdh67GuvL7

Light and Love!

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetry
50

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure and other affairs of the heart).

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I’m blown away. 👏🏼 So sad. So unique. So intriguing.

  • Robbie Cheadle12 months ago

    This is clever and beautifully written. Very poignant.

  • A. Lenae12 months ago

    Holy smokes. Incredible writing, and what a beautiful and tall statue that you've erected from such scary thoughts that can make us feel quite insignificant. This is a victory and clearly a source of power. Thank you so much for sharing it. I have to share my favorite line: "I took the coins they placed over my eyes and used them as bus fare to go to my childhood home." Really impactful. Congratulations on all of the ways you built this piece.

  • Rene Peters12 months ago

    Amazing piece! As someone who has attempted before, I teared up a bit. Keep writing! Also, congrats on top story

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Ahamed Thousif12 months ago

    Wonderful Story!!! Amazing Work...

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Wow. This story, your story, reaches out. Powerful stuff. Well deserved top.story!!

  • Joelle E🌙12 months ago

    Thank you so much for sharing this. Congrats ❤️

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I'm glad writing has been a coping mechanism for you. Don't stop. Congratulations on your Top Story.

  • ❤️Congratulations on your Top Story❗

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Wow, this is a very powerful piece and It moved me deeply! 💫

  • Farhan Mirza 12 months ago

    RC taylor , follow me back pls and lets be a family

  • Excellent story

  • Humberto Da Silva12 months ago

    Tight !

  • Sean Bass12 months ago

    Beautiful work with a very intriguing concept, you take something that could’ve been clichéd and turn it into something highly original and astounding.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Your descriptions made me think of one of my favorite books, Out of Africa. Very vivid and thoughtful and caring descriptions of nature and life. Beautiful work.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    😭❤️. So powerful and knowing what each line means is just so staggering. Sending you ❤️❤️❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Please don't stop writing, ever ❤

  • This was very emotional and powerful. I'm so glad you wrote this poem as a way to cope with your suicidal thoughts. I'm a suicide survivor and I always regret it. But I'm using writing as a way to deal with my pain. So glad you did too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.