Poets logo

By the Campfire

A haiku

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Quadru-haiku Challenge
9
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

Tapering pines point

as fingers of smoke invoke

half moon’s slow ascent

* * *

[This is adapted from one of the first haiku I ever wrote, while camping with my family when I was 19. Everyone else had gone to bed and I remained out to watch the night. Decades later, I still remember the snapping of the fire and the growing chill as it waned, the mysteries in the shadows all around, the glorious spread of stars overhead ringed by the silhouettes of the trees, the rising of the silver moon with silent majesty -- and the impulse to impress it all into a poem. And now I can share it with you!]

nature poetry
9

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Beautiful! I adore haiku, and this one told an entire story in just a few lines! Brilliant job! I loved hearing the history behind this one as well!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing this treasured memory. Take my love and subscription! ❤️

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Wow Sonia!! Even your back-story is so thoughtfully and eloquently worded. Congratulations on your win!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    congrats

  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a year ago

    Congratulations. Lovely haiku and thanks for sharing the back story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.