Poets logo

By My Side

Poem

By GenevievePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
By My Side
Photo by Gabriele Motter on Unsplash

I have filled the pages of your book,

like you have filled my life with laughter.

I shall keep you in mind,

like you keep me in line.

Never judging,

always listening,

keeping the best in mind.

But, if the time shall ever come,

when we no longer laugh.

If the time shall ever come,

when we become strangers.

All you'll have to do,

is blow away the dust.

All you'll have to do,

is remember and trust.

That I have remembered you,

that memories are close to my heart.

They shall remain dearer than the life I breathe,

They shall remain more precious than the jewels of a mine.

So fret not that soon we shall go our separate ways,

and fret not for the friendship shall never be gone.

It shall last longer than the days to come,

it shall last longer than the stars have shone.

For our friendship is built on fun,

and our friendship is built on trust.

It started at the beginning of time,

and shall end when the stars collide,

with you always by my side.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Genevieve

Learning to process the experiences of life, my own or those of others, brought me to turn my feelings into words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.