Poets logo

But Wait, There’s More (What If — Part 2)

This time I was angry. Word to Billy Mays.

By D.C MemoirPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

But wait, there's more!

What if we didn't only claim terror when it came from overseas?I claim terror 1921 when they burned down Black Wall Street.Spare No Church, Spare No School,Leave the bodies for all to see.

The biggest massacre of AmericaHas no place in its history.Half the souls stand ignorant while I'm left alone to grieve.

Why you say?

MOVE

Drop a bomb and let it burn throughout the streetsMeet me with apologies, lackluster care, and minor fees.'85 they turned a blind eye to sparing livesSo hypnotized, by fear

How many orders went through that line?"Drop a bomb" And not a cricket"Shoot them down" And not a cricket"Let it burn" And not a cricket

Dammit, I'm tired of listening to this silence!

For everybody gunned down,Hear not a cricket!

For every black sold life,Hear not a cricket!

For those still sold today,Hear not a cricket!

Til I hear JusticeI can say that I hear not a cricket

Racism is shown in these streetsWhen we march peacefully surrounded by riot gearWhen no weapons are even near,

But an Oregon B&E, they sit with weapons asking for peaceAnd still get time to speak while on government property.

Well excuse me for thinking I'd be shot on sight,While tryna claim the same rights,With no chance that they indict,Or give a damn about my life!

Can I live to tell my story?

I'm tired of one-sided testimonies,

From police with broken stories,That can't match video evidence,Or tamper to have it never sent.

Chicago showed us so eloquent,How quick they'll come to their defense.Forget he robbed him of his innocence,A life he didn't get to live.

Criminal powers never make it past the court

So until I hear Justice,I am hearing not a cricket.

I know we speak loud, but till they hear us,It's not a cricket.

I heard so much 'bout change, but now I'm hearingNot a cricket...

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

D.C Memoir

Sometimes the words find the page before you get the chance to understand them. In that case, most of these writings are just happy accidents. Coincidence. Or just a result of perfect entanglement.

Memoirs Tuesday | Poetry Thursdays

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.