Poets logo

Busy Bored

always

By Joni ÉcritPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Busy Bored
Photo by Haley Carman on Unsplash

The 'me' that cares has fallen asleep

Asleep somewhere behind my heart

The 'me' that's awake is bored

and lazy

I need her to wake up

But she's dead asleep and walking around

while I am awake

Feeling drunk when I haven't had a drop in weeks

Close my eyes and spin around

until I lift off of the ground

Space out

Wake up

Get to work

stay awake

Until the 'me' I need

Crawls out from behind the wall

put up in my mind

Busy and bored

all the time

anymore

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Joni your words are a mirror reflecting the inner conflicts many of us face. Powerful and raw. 💔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.