Poets logo

Burning Down the Hwy!

Living without you!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Burning Down the Hwy!
Photo by Caleb George on Unsplash

~ Burning down the hwy ~

The pain of living every night without you,

these feelings so alive

leave me at a loss as to what I can do

so my tires burn down the hwy

driving the same miles every day,

Not knowing how to get by

with the way thinking of you makes me feel

I can’t even touch myself…

my body aches to give itself to you

and let you take me to the other side

of a lovers world,

One I don’t know outside of these words

but eagerly anticipate,

finding you as I walk down

a street one day;

There you are all that man

standing before me

going nowhere

and without a word,

you reach out and grab on to

what you know is yours

knowing nothing I have is locked

away from you!

And I can’t do anything

but give in,

To your hearts demand

your hands hold

your arms surround me

it’s unstoppable,

what you do to my blood

my temperature rises

And I’m lost in that moment,

of finally seeing you

after months of dreaming and days of wandering

the city streets,

Hurting so bad to find you

to try and re-write that

tragedy that lives in every naked moment, I spend alone;

And every foot step I take

without you keeping time there by my side;

the feeling of your long legs

not next to me

burdens my heart

as my ears miss the sound of your voice rambling words

for hours that only make sense to me,

I bare a sadness which cannot be described,

So I scratch at my skin

as I cry over where No-man has ever been

and all I can do is wait

with the undaunted passion

that someday the one that I need

will finally be there to fix,

what is missing from

inside of me!

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.