Poets logo

Burned Down our Bridge.

Poem: J series

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I probably shouldn't have burned our bridge,

But it through me off,

When you went on as if we never existed,

Or at least that's what felt like,

I didn't do anything rash,

Although you acted as if I did,

I was overcome with emotions, hell I was livid,

But I didn't do anything to harm your image,

Though I wanted too,

I wanted to hurt you,

So, I told I regretted everything,

Hoping it would at least sting,

But was that true?

I don't really know,

But with the anger I felt towards you, it was the only thing I could show,

And now we are here,

I guess there's not really a "we" anymore,

We slammed the door and locked it shut,

Trapped anything we had left in casket,

We are done,

Now I sit here,

Driving down the roads,

That used to lead me to yours,

Deleting every memory that pops on my phone,

Trying to process everything a year of me has known,

That isn't anymore,

I am still so hurt,

We may have broken up mutually,

But you moved on first,

And with a blink of an eye everything known was gone,

Maybe in your eyes, it wasn't wrong,

Maybe to you, you weren't leaving me behind,

Maybe you don't see, how I was blind sighted,

But I felt blatantly divided,

Where I was in your bed last week,

To you not ever wanting us to ever meet again,

That fueled me with so much resentment,

You have sense blocked me from your life,

I wish we could have kept it nice,

I don't need to text you, but I wish that door wasn't shut,

I wish I didn't feel such an absence between us,

But I hope she fits you like I never did,

I wish I could have felt happy for you,

Instead of burning down our bridge.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Madison Newtonabout a year ago

    Very interesting, well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.