Poets logo

Absence

Poem: J series

By Rilee AreyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I miss you,

Rather, I miss the way I have been thinking of you,

those brief moments where time didn't move,

Where your actions chose me,

But even if regret doesn't sit where I do,

I sit here now with the truth,

I chose to lose you,

And I know that it was right,

But that absence stings on my skin as a ruse,

We decided to end our fight,

yet now all I hold are the memories,

the concept of when you were with me,

The distance of pain, makes it intriguing to tease,

But that's the problem isn't it,

I want to be loved,

I want to be wanted,

but when I was with you it wasn't enough,

So I left,

Yet still feel haunted by your absence,

rightfully so,

Even though I know you care,

We no longer share anything,

You were being polite,

As I sent you something of sight,

I knew something wasn't right,

Based off how you responded,

We were no longer bonded,

And it was evident,

You had blocked me out in a week,

Yet I curled back for your attention when I was weak,

But now I see where this leads,

And I regret nothing more than what I sent,

I regret nothing more than my heart that I lent to you,

Because it was worthless when all said and done,

We are left with nowhere else to run,

But away from each other,

Like we never knew another,

Yet I still feel the lingering absence of you,

When you have already moved on to someone new.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.