Poets logo

Burn, Witch!

Holier Than Thou - Nightmare Melodies Series

By CyCyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Logo/Cover is designed by me - Canva Pro

Note from me:

Before you start reading, I would like to disclose that this "song" is purely fictional, and has dark undertones. It can be triggering to some.

I am blessed and/or cursed with nightmares and dreams every night. Call Me Ms. G! is one of the songs that play in my nightmares. The second is Forgive Me, Father; the third song is In Christ We Trust; the fourth is Blessed be; and the fifth is Burn, Witch!

Unfortunately, I cannot remember the melody during my waking hours. All I remember was that the genre would most likely fall under Gothic Rock.

Anyway, in my manic state, I got up at 3 am every day to write down the lyrics!

Would you believe me when I say that it's a whole album?

In my nightmares, I remember perusing through "the variant" of Spotify. Then I saw the album Holier than thou - The Nightmare Melodies.

Well, here's the fifth song on that album! Enjoy :)

P.S. the album logo is almost identical to my book cover House of Trials - Soul Exchange

P.P.S. If you would like to know first what this song is about, scroll down and read my note :)

Burn, Witch!

Gather around folks

And learn a lesson or two!

In this little town

We have a few rules

The rules keep us safe

From the Devil who tempts

Questions about your beliefs

Show signs of the weak

Cut the weak from the herd

Lest we all be ill

We sing the songs of the angels

Praise the Mighty He

The powerful us guarantee

That all will be blind to see

People who seek wisdom

Are sent to the fiery pits

So, burn, Witch!

Lest we all be ill

Within these walls

You see constraints

Haha!

Yes, you may be right!

Would you like to fight

For the freedom you gave up

So, you can feel secure at night

About the sins you've passed onto

The generations to come?

We sing the songs of the angels

Praise the Mighty He!

"Blessed be," we sing

"Blessed be," you sing

The powerful us guarantee

That you all will be blind to see

That we send those who question

To the fiery pits

So, burn, Witch!

Burn, burn, burn!

Lest we all be ill

Lest we all be ill

Maybe one night you'll wake

With sweat down your neck

Was this the right way to live?

Was this the right place to breed?

But questions about your beliefs

Show signs of the weak

Cut the weak from the herd

Lest we all be ill

We sang the songs of the angels

Oh, Mighty is Me!

So, burn, Witch!

Burn, burn, burn!

Lest we all be ill

Lest we all be ill

How did this song come about? What was the nightmare?

This whole album is about a small town. They are isolated from the rest of society and are only taught things that their council deems appropriate - even going as far as twisting religion.

The fifth song signifies how the Council exercises its power over its people:

  • If one of them tries to fight the corruption, they are immediately cut from the herd just like Little Gina was (Call me Ms. G! & In Christ, We Trust).
  • And when problems arise within the walls, they are often neglected and swept under the rug (Forgive me, Father).

---

I usually create darker content whether it is art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

You can connect with me on Instagram, Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and read my Lux et Obscurum issues at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/lux-et-obscurum-grimoire/.

P.S. I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, leaving me a tip, or giving your pledge (which is $2.99/month). If you also want to get updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter right here.

sad poetrysocial commentary
2

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.