Poets logo

In Christ, We Trust

Holier Than Thou - Nightmare Melodies Series

By CyCyPublished about a year ago 4 min read
3
Cover/logo is designed by me - Canva Pro

Note from me:

Before you start reading, I would like to disclose that this "song" is purely fictional, and has dark undertones. It can be triggering to some.

You see, I am blessed and/or cursed with nightmares and dreams every night. Call Me Ms. G! is one of the songs that play in my nightmares. The second is Forgive Me, Father; and now the third song: In Christ We Trust.

Unfortunately, I cannot remember the melody during my waking hours. All I remember was that the genre would most likely fall under Gothic Rock.

Anyway, in my manic state, I got up at 3 am every day to write down the lyrics!

Would you believe me when I say that it's a whole album?

In my nightmares, I remember perusing through "the variant" of Spotify. Then there I saw the album called Holier than thou - The Nightmare Melodies.

Well, here's the third song on that album! Enjoy :)

P.S. the album logo is almost identical to my book cover House of Trials - Soul Exchange

P.P.S. If you would like to know first what this song is about, scroll down and read my note :)

In Christ We Trust

In a little town far away from you

Children like me roam the grounds with glee

We sing and dance to the music we're taught

We read and write words that we're taught

But little Gina wanted more

She saw the skies and asked about the stars

Then little Gina saw the walls and asked and asked

"What is that giant tree beyond those walls?"

No, baby, please don't ask

You know that we can't ask

Children like us are not meant to fly

We sing and dance to the songs they write

Gina, please, can't you see?

There is nothing else to know beyond that tree

We hold ceremonies for those who obey

We fall into ranks, we command, and we pray

In Christ we trust, we say

In Christ we trust, we obey

But little Gina could not understand

The hypocrisy and the glee

"Why do we sing and dance to the songs they write?"

"Why do we obey?"

No, baby, please don't ask

You know that we can't ask

Children like us are not meant to fly

We sing and dance to the songs they write

Gina, please, can't you see?

There is nothing else to know beyond that tree

But little Gina could not understand

So at night she climbed and climbed

Up at the wall and to the stars

"For in Christ, I trust," she sang

"In his mercy, I trust," she sang

But the little town does not understand

Their hypocrisy and glee

So my little Gina never came home

Beyond the tree is where she sleeps

Because children like us are not meant to fly

We sing and dance to the songs they write

Gina, please, can't you see?

There is nothing else to know beyond that tree

I wish you never asked me about that tree

In Christ, I trust that you are now free

How did this song come about? What was the nightmare?

This was about a mother who was mourning for her daughter. They were isolated from the rest of society and were only taught things that their council deemed to be appropriate - even going as far as twisting religion.

Horrible things happened in this town. But because they were taught to never leave or ask, they would never be free.

Little Gina was the symbol of hope and curiosity. Unfortunately, the town did not see it that way. So that's why the mother sang, "beyond the tree is where she sleeps," & "In Christ, I trust that you are now free."

---

Anyway, I usually create darker content whether it is art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

You can connect with me on Instagram, Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and read my Lux et Obscurum issues at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/lux-et-obscurum-grimoire/.

I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, leaving me a tip, or giving your pledge (which is $2.99/month). If you also want to get updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter right here.

heartbreaksad poetry
3

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.