Poets logo

burn

(me down)

By Sara Published 11 months ago 1 min read
burn
Photo by Chris Karidis on Unsplash

where does my rage go

when i bite my lip

til it bleeds

and swallow the heat

rising in my chest.

my world inside

is burning.

where do the tears

that i cannot cry

go to

when my eyes

turn into black pools

my heart is drowning.

is there somewhere

where i am not alone

because my soul

has forgotten

what it feels like

to be held

so that solitude

feels like home.

my mind

has made me forget

what the world can look like

so darkness is my light

and the blood i drink

slides down my throat like water.

where do i go?

heartbreak

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    So raw and honest, as always. This especially stood out to me "is there somewhere where i am not alone because my soul has forgotten what it feels like to be held so that solitude feels like home." So sad. Well written as ever!

  • -Profound Piece🥹📝💯❤️❗

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Wow! That was some powerful stuff! Great work!

Sara  Written by Sara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.