Poets logo

Burial

Image By John Fowler from Placitas, NM, USA - On the Rocks, CC BY 2.0,

By Jerald WegehenkelPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3

I drive into the Seattle morning, road and sky an indistinguishable gray. Gulls in flight screeched Ivar’s delights, while drivers clutched their Starbucks. Gotta go round, the mountains and sound, no direct path to my destination is found.

Only a few more hours together, then he departs from the western shore. The tears in my eyes, not for him but for me. I am the last, there is no one else to carry me to the sea.

The sunset arrives parading the sky, perhaps I will sit here and wait for a while. The sun gives me a wink as she sinks out of sight, I know the parade is for me.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Jerald Wegehenkel

Part time writer, full time weirdo. I focus on short works of fantasy and fiction, and dabble in a bit of poetry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was so deep and emotional! Loved this! Hope you're okay.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.