Poets logo

Building a New Heart

Meeting my Adopted Son's Brother and Sister

By F Cade SwansonPublished 2 years ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Like
Building a New Heart
Photo by juan pablo rodriguez on Unsplash

When I heard

that his mom was a faith-based fitness instructor

and his dad was a corrections officer

I thought twice about taking you to meet your brother.

And when I remembered

that your relatives weren’t able to care for you

and I recalled the conversations with them

that brought you to us

I dreaded packing the car and heading East.

But when I saw

your eyes staring back at me

when we met your brother

and I watched your faces melt into smiles

as you danced and played

and laughed and yelled

I knew this was the right place to be.

And when I watched

the two of you run up to your little sister

on the side of a hill

and she looked just like you

and just like him

and all of a sudden you were building roots

and healing broken connections

and we were all learning who you are,

I was embarrassed that I had been afraid to bring you here.

So when I listened

to your laughter on the long ride home

as you talked about your family,

and I began to understand

how you put it all together,

I started to cry.

“I feel like I have a new heart,” you said,

and drifted off to sleep.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

F Cade Swanson

Queer dad from Virginia now living and writing in the Pacific Northwest. Dad poems, sad poems, stories about life. Read more at fcadeswanson.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.