Poets logo

Bruised

‘One Thing At A Time’ Poem Collection

By George GriffithsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Dark waters and broken bridges, I felt I was losing control.

Looking down on the fall, I wasn’t as strong as I thought I was, I didn’t know my strength - it’s a lesson.

Black and blue, I am bruised, I’m not surrendering.

There’s been something going on, and it’s been bothering me for too long.

Trying to unravel the problem,

betraying myself trying to find out what’s been going wrong.

No, I won’t stop until my mind is free,

my heart has been broken, but it’s healing.

Black and blue it turned,

worn and torn, but here I am.

I’m not surrendering.

I’ve been seen at my lowest point when I’ve felt so weak,

I stood back up, and I came to the front.

I’m glad I had it in me to reveal the truth; it’s made me realise what the fact can do.

I had been lying to my counsellor,

To the ones I loved.

I just said I was excellent all the time.

I was bruised, and it was something I wanted to hide, but the bruises started to show.

It was my own world war three, through the smoke I couldn’t see what love was waiting for me.

“Don’t you ever get sad like that again!”

I was bruised, but now there’s not much left of the black and the blue, I finally told myself;

“Look after you!”

I was bruised.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

George Griffiths

If you wish to see more, simply visit my website @

georgesofficial.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.