Poets logo

Thinking About Thoughts

‘One Thing At A Time’ Poem Collection

By George GriffithsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

This fear,

This emotion,

This feeling...

These things are always with me

I feel like I’m walking alone with them on my mind

There’s so much going on,

yet it feels as if nobody will ever understand what’s wrong.

I want to feel the warmth of someone's hug,

I want to feel loved and looked after -

But I want to be alone.

It’s selfish, I know...

My mind, it’s against me

I’m fighting it day and night

I want to stop thinking for just a moment.

The thing is - the more I think, the more I hurt, and the more I try not to it hurts more.

You ask me “what’s wrong?” But I tell you that “I’m fine.”

Stop believing me, I know you probably don’t anyway, but please be patient with me

I’m getting there, I promise.

You’ll know when I know the time’s right because I will hand you a plate of pure emotion

Everything that’s going on, I’m trying to leave behind me

It all seems to know how to catch up with me, and then I’m back to square one

I’m getting there, I promise.

I want to be ok, but I’m angry at myself, why? I don’t know.

This mind of mine, it’s setting land mines

As soon as I manage to block things out, it blows up

I want to give up; I want to

Although, there’s a part of me that wants to survive

I’m exercising this part, though it’s going to take some time.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

George Griffiths

If you wish to see more, simply visit my website @

georgesofficial.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.