Poets logo

Brown Rose

Poem

By Kale RossPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Brown Rose
Photo by Adam Fossier on Unsplash

I disrobe all my clothes

at the sun’s close.

Then let the moonlight

illuminate my brown toes.

I let them seep deep into

the soil of the brown rose.

Fertilized footprints fossilize

as the ground glows.

A gold crow salivates from

its nose as I decompose.

It’s mouth stuffed with furry toes

and canary yellow shadows.

I start to bloom red

petals of adrenaline,

while high percentages of

my appendages begin

melting from my skeleton.

I am a silverback spider

hitching rides on grey elephants.

Poisonous ambitions dipping

white fangs into intelligence.

My brown skin is bruised

from all the pangs of

this pestilence.

I taste the air and allow gravity

to pull me up by the hair.

Chestnut curls curled around

the teeth of a snare.

But the wind is my ally,

a kaleidoscope ride on a

cloud made of tie dye.

I continue upwind so I

can blossom into view.

Until the day I die and

dissolve back into the blue.

surreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Kale Ross

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.