Poets logo

Brown

By Heather Mitchell Manheim

By Heather Mitchell ManheimPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Some think brown is drab or dirty

But I see so much more

I see the potential,

A treat, a gift

Or a proclamation of love

When I mix a chocolate cake

Or cream brown sugar into butter,

Turning the sunny yellow mixture

Fluffy and tinged with brown.

I also see it’s vitality

When I dig my hands into the rich earth,

Pulling up home-grown potatoes,

Russet in name and color.

And in the earthworm

That I meet, his ochre body

Wiggling by.

I see the knowledge

In a worn leather-bound book

Waiting to be opened to share its secrets.

I see beauty in the wild mane of a horse

As he flies by

As if wings on the hoofs,

As if an equine Hermes

Knowing he is not drab or dirty,

But that he is everything.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Heather Mitchell Manheim

Heather studied Creative Writing and Journalisim in school, and has been writing and reading since she was a child. When she isn't writing, she loves to travel, bake/cook, watch classic movies and photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.