Poets logo

Branches

by: Heather Mitchell Manheim

By Heather Mitchell ManheimPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’ve felt the deep blue sadness

the sorrow and loss

I’ve burned with the red fires of anger

because of betrayal and deception

and been on the precipice of depression

a black wasteland of void before me

these trials grew deep roots in my soul

Then

a verdant, green awakening

Bringing

Faith. Hope. Love.

as I

Became

as my branches grew

stretched out and expanded

I learned

it doesn’t need to be torture

to Grow

to Be

still, if my trunk is cut

yellow rings of despair might form

and

brown dried tumbleweeds occasionally

gather around

my base

but my branches fan out

my roots strengthen

offer protection

from the darkness

and a rainbow

blossoms from my Heart

and

Soul

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Heather Mitchell Manheim

Heather studied Creative Writing and Journalisim in school, and has been writing and reading since she was a child. When she isn't writing, she loves to travel, bake/cook, watch classic movies and photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.