Poets logo

Brother, Mother, Papa

todd d chastain

By Todd D ChastainPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Finding One's Self

Oh sweet brother, where have you been?

Oh little mother I'm sorry I’ve sinned

Ol man poppa much to my chagrin

I've been caught up in the ol song again.

Endless rounds of let downs family’s trend.

Oh sweet brother how I worry for you,

It's all in your hands until you find a clue.

Oh little mother, I need you to forgive me today

These crippled emotions don't seem to go away

Ol man poppa guide me to the new

Every time we talk you seem withdrew

Oh little brother, where have you been?

Oh sweet mother I'm sorry Ive sinned

Ol man poppa much to my chagrin

Oh little brother how I miss the good times

Now just drifting in this world a victim of your crimes

Oh sweet momma forgive me for running away

I knew you were hurting but chose to stray

Ol man poppa why did you medicate?

hurt the momma and stay out so late?

Oh little brother, where have you been?

Oh sweet mother I'm sorry Ive sinned

Ol man poppa much to my chagrin

Oh little brother I wish I could take away your pain

You're the only one who can stop your damned ol train

Oh sweet mother I miss your grace

I can't bring you back although my heart has a place

Ol man poppa I forgive you so

You still have plenty of hate that you have to let go

Oh little brother, Oh sweet mother, Ol man papa

I've been caught up in the ol song again

Ol song of self and dealing with my sins,

I've found without you can mend.

My learning is concerning as I earn my keep,

I can no longer follow you while wolves slaughter sheep.

Oh little brother, where have you been?

Oh sweet mother I'm sorry I've sinned

Ol man poppa much to my chagrin

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.