Poets logo

Broken Masks

I never had to wear one with you. That freedom was a gift.

By Kelly MendozaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

I told you I'd never let you go

You swore I'd never need to

Guess we both broke our promises

I never thought I'd do that with you

I didn't lie when I told you

I'd never felt complete

I'd been broken so long ago

my battered heart was obsolete

The only times I ever felt whole

was in your arms, lips pressed to mine

Your scent was like coming home,

Your taste was divine

Smooth and sweet on my tongue

Warm honey down my throat

Summer sunshine on my lips

Basking in your love I would float

Surrounded by your warmth

I never felt cold inside

There was no judgement, no worries

With you, I didn't have to hide

Your acceptance meant so much to me

It was enough to be just me

I didn't have to pretend or fake anything

The real me was all you could see

Now I stand here alone

mask again firmly in place

I have to hide how I really feel

letting no one see my true face

The scars and bruising and bleeding

are all hidden away

Every teardrop is another cut

my heart breaks anew every day

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kelly Mendoza

As a newly single mother of 2, I've found myself with extra time on my hands . Whether it's fantasy or paranormal , reading and writing has always been an escape for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.