Poets logo

Broken

A Villanelle

By Hannah MoorePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Villanelle Challenge
36

I did not want to reach this part,

To watch you turn your gaze away,

Where nothing soothes my fractured heart.

*

You sought to see me at the start,

Though I feared you could not stay,

I did not want to reach this part.

*

To me your love had tasted tart,

Used as I was to night, not day,

Where nothing soothes my fractured heart.

*

But loving you became an art.

I learnt to keep my fear at bay,

I did not want to reach this part.

*

Now you have started to depart,

Though in our bed we both still lay,

Where nothing soothes my fractured heart.

*

I tried to weave, to duck and dart,

Knowing the price I could not pay.

I did not want to reach this part,

Where nothing soothes my fractured heart.

heartbreak
36

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    Portrays the emotion of a breakup so well. Congratulations on your well deserved win❤️

  • Alison McBain4 months ago

    The pain could be felt in your vivid language.

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    I think this harnesses the form perfectly. That stilted rhythm of the villanelle until the final stanza creates a harmony with your rhymes and the emotional heart. “But loving you became an art. I learnt to keep my fear at bay, I did not want to reach this part.” Goodness this is so true to life! Truly magnificent work, Hannah! Congratulations! 🎈🎉

  • Natalie Wilkinson4 months ago

    Congratulations ! This feels like well expressed sadness.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Congratulations, Hannah! Brevity was very effective in the execution of your poem. Less is definitely more, and it paid off. Well done!

  • Yayyyyy sooo happy for you Hannah! Congratulations! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    THis is absolutely beautiful, Hannah! Congratulations!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Heartbreaking!!! Congratulations on the runner up win!!!💕❤️

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Congrats! "I did not want to reach this part" was such a powerful repeating line!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Well done, on placing. Not surprised at all. Congrats, Hannah!

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Congratulations, Hannah! I can see why this poem placed: your short lines contain such restrained pain, and and your refrain keeps piercing me where it hurts. Fantastic job.

  • Rene Peters4 months ago

    Very well written! Also, congrats on being a runner up!

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Oh, ouch 💔 I hope not drawn from real life because it is just too sad 😣

  • Aaliyah Madison5 months ago

    Nice work!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    AH!!! That impish heartbreak devil. Why does this devil haunt us so. Such a sad reminder of the trial of us all.

  • Gina C.5 months ago

    Amazing work, Hannah - so beautiful, sad, and compelling. ❤️

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is beautiful, and heartbreaking.

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    This is simply a masterpiece Hannah!

  • This was so poignant, emotional and heartbreaking. I hope you're okay though 🥺

  • Brenton F5 months ago

    So sad and so beautiful!

  • Brin J.5 months ago

    This poem gutted me beautifully, lol. Well done! Now, I've got to go pick up the pieces of my own fractured heart😅

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    I've been trying to ignore the villanelle challenge because it seems too difficult to make sense with such repetition. You made it easy to see it and feel it. A lovely sad poem.

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    An artful use of the form to represent poignant emotions which are both intimately personal and universal, alas.

  • Sara 5 months ago

    I never knew broken could be so beautiful...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.