Poets logo

Broken

The Feelings Within

By Briana ReneePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Your words play in my mind like an echo

All I think about is you

My heart pounds like a drum

Shattering like glass

Racing against time, years pass on

Wondering if one day you’ll come back for me

You told me one day you’d be here

You would take care of me

Protect me, help me, save me

You left me alone in a big world

Leaving scars each day you’re not here

The pain picks at my heart

Eroding it like acid, decaying slowly

Leaving me empty inside

A hole deep and dark

Growing bigger and bigger with each waking breath

Not knowing when the pain will end

But I grow and get stronger

And leave the past behind thinking about the future

I won’t let you keep me down

Because I have the power to prevail

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Briana Renee

I spend my time taking photos and exploring the outdoors.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.