Poets logo

Broke Wings

the world I live

By Brenda DeherreraPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I live in a world where I cannot fly anymore. Every time I lift my arms towards the sky, gravity decides to pull me back. I envy the stars because they light up the sky into a beautiful hue of blue. I envy the ones who love who they are inside and out. My wings snapped when I tried to please everyone else who knew how to at least take off. Every time I aim to please, I end up back on the ground with my wings being a shield.

I live in a world where the sweet smell of lavender overwhelms the senses. Where honeysuckle can soothe the poor souls who live in world where the foul stench of rotting garbage is the norm. Where the cold is warm like the fire flickering in a fireplace.

I live in a world where I the sounds of whimsical notes echo throughout the still night. Tunes of the dead leave a ringing sound in one's ears. Whistles of those who once wore smile have turned into the whistles that haunt your very dreams.

I live in a world where rocks and stones were thrown at me with no remorse. They were thrown until the snapping of my wings made all around cheer in glee. Where the stinging pain of being alone in this world has crushed what little soul I had left in me. This is world that disregards the ones who broke along this path called life.

Why has the thing known as simple as being a decent human being? When has the world grown so dark and filled with cold, tossing away those who seem, weak?

I live in world filled with a limited amount of light and warmth. Those moments that make the butterflies flutter inside your stomach. The heat to flush the very skin as your breath begins to quicken in joy. When you see those pure eyes stare at you with trust and innocence. To fell the those little arms reach out and laughter that sounds just like little bells. These are the moments that leave the smallest of light in this cruel and tainted world.

I live in a world where there is no longer something as....humanity.

Time

There once was a time when

a smile was real.

There once was a time when a

laugh wasn't forced.

That time was long ago,

back when the word understood

itself.

Back when there was no need

for selfish wishes.

Now it's all about the broken, the

one's who were torn down.

Now it's all about lies, these

is no higher honor.

Maybe if this world would

learn to act as one,

And see that we are the

same to see we are all

human.

Then maybe this upside down

world would be fine.

Once long ago, people smiled

a smile that wasn't forced.

Cried because of childish things,

feared only the unknown, judged

based on facts.

That time is now long gone,

lost forever at sea.

There once was a time when

the broken could be fixed.

But now, that too is a lost

dream, that died once

a long

time

ago.

i live in a world that has simply forgot what it meant to be kind and to look out for one another.

I live in a world that forgets to keep an eye out for the one's who are breaking.

I live in a world that black and white, no grey in between.

I live in a world that has very few light moments.

I live in a world that broke my very wings.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Brenda Deherrera

I'm just someone who loves to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.