Poets logo

Brindle Bronze

a search for something

By Kale Bova Published 9 months ago 1 min read
Brindle Bronze
Photo by Kirill Sh on Unsplash

I twist myself around realities

to differentiate my personalities,

comparing the similarities.

I stalk silver ghosts

through the thick fog of river bogs,

listening, as ancient dialogues vocalize

epic prologues and epilogues.

I study stone-carved runes

with cross-shaped text books,

hoping to understand why the

moon’s face is always stuck in

a perplexed look.

My dense soles wander hollow roads

above lost souls, knocking lose hot coals

to illuminate their black holes.

My gifts are wrinkled songs,

cupped in simple palms,

coated in brindle bronze.

I wade in still water,

desperately waiting to be

stolen by an orphaned current.

I empty my asthmatic lungs at

dense clouds, hoping I can turn

their opaque skins transparent.

I kiss searing tongues of flames so

my lips can learn how to burn.

I stow aboard sinking ships,

knotting my head to the

bow, and my heart

to the stern.

slam poetryperformance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Kale Bova

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    This is great

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Bronze is my favorite color! Great poem

Kale Bova Written by Kale Bova

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.