Poets logo

Bright Moon.

Moorland.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Calling Moon.

It was the most strangest night ever in my bedroom- I had my back against the wall listening to music as I often do. I could see the moon through my bedroom window in full swing. My friend texted me, “have you seen that moon!” I replied “yes very bright.” The wind whistled it was almost as if it was playing the flute.

I wasn’t feeling particularly tired, however I had a really weird sensation that the person behind the wall next to me, whoever it was, had a skill of making me feel hypnotised. That is the only way I could describe it. I felt myself drift further and further into a hypotonic state,almost catatonic. I thought why fight it whatever it is as I had not been sleeping very well, actually very little.

I remember describing the room I was in to the person behind the wall, I’m in a lounge they have a blue and white plate hung on the wall and a plaque of some sort. There was a shooting rifle on the desk and a stuffed brown fox in the corner. I continued we are in a Stately Home a Manor House black and white outside. It has a silver pendulum on the draws which are ticking as we speak.

We are getting Horses ready; there are beagles about, horns being blown and I’m dressed in a black dress with white petticoat undeath. I was helping the gentry get on the horses with a footstool when I felt an almighty lash across my back, it was a burning sensation just as bright and burning as the moon, it was looking like fire tonight the moon rather than the white it was a fire burning moon.My dress was torn and I began to weep my master said “ I will give you 5 yards and we are coming to peek” with this evil pig grunting laugh. I fell and grabbed the earth for a few seconds the mud and the grass, slipped through my fingers , with no hope of a groped grasp.

I felt helpless there was me and young Tabby and Jack and we were to all run and hide like the foxes did too. Right down the muddy wet rabbit hole that held me for a moment or too, waterlogged but the perfect place too rod your scent of the beagles that were hot on my descent.

I didn’t feel like I was under hypnosis anymore I felt like I was being regressed, to the antics of the old gentry and the full moons chase ahead. I ran through the forests with the tbickle and brambles scratching me everywhere, I would fall and look up and give the moon a glare. I could hear them with their trumpet and beagles,and I came across a Wolf grey not feeble.

Guide to the waters and a scent.

I didn’t know who to more afraid of; the Wolf, the pack of beagles chasing me and my Tormentor too. I looked into the eye of the Alpha that was stood too, and knew my only hope was to follow her. She gave the most high pitch howl you ever did hear as if there were a pack of six of them near.

I followed her quickly and she led me across a stream the glistening of the moon could be seen, beautiful and shimmering, alive as though dancing on the rivers edge. I gave myself five minutes to drink the water from the rocks edge I knew we would have a long journey ahead of us. When bones and sculls began to float past bye, I realised I was in the Mought where the did dunk the witches to see if they drowned or their lungs withheld the air they gulped. Alpha looked at me and I knew where I was in my haunting ground where I was miss judged. We waited for the beagles and the scent they lost at the rivers edge and foolishly fell into a 16ft fall. The masters came and the sight of the moon glowing through my ethereal light they turned and ran like cowhards of the night. You do see my plight I just enjoy dancing in the bright moonlight.

#creative-Vocal editors

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.