Poets logo

Breathing Under Water

What love shouldn't feel like

By Manic RantingsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Breathing Under Water
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

Every conversation with you is war

Our mouths are grenade launchers flying into one another

Our words are the grenades and we're bleeding out

I take my shot

It's ripping through your skin, tendons and burrowing into your heart almost inside of your florescent, beautiful soul

And you hold my head under the waves

Bubbles are violently rising from my parted lips and I cannot speak

I cannot see

I cannot breathe and you cannot heed my warning

I self destruct

Maybe in the wrong time or the wrong places, but really is there ever a right time?

A right place?

Love does not save you, but it teaches you how to breathe under water

I cannot love and take in fresh oxygen in the same instant, it is a mathematical equation to love you.

But I live for complicated people and the stars are prettier when you're next to me.

The stars are brighter and I can see Jupider and Mars and the Moon and I love you

Because you are complicated

Because I am complicated

I love you

~Manic Rantings

love poems
1

About the Creator

Manic Rantings

Hi everyone! I'm new to vocal. I'm a poet and I hope you all enjoy my poems🥰

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.