Poets logo

Breathe

Finding Inner Strength

By Persephone MackinnonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Breathe
Photo by Abdul Gani M on Unsplash

Breathe, my love, release the air , inhale and exhale you can get there .

The journey feels so long and winding , it feels too much when the light is blinding .

I know your pain I feel it too, I understand, I’m just like you.

You ask yourself as you close your eyes , all the same questions, all the same lies.

What’s my worth, what’s the point, it all feels hopeless, I just disappoint.

Tears are gone, dried up, forgotten. This is it feels at rock bottom

Might feel easier to just give in , lying here letting despair win

Your brain says it’s just too hard, the mind, the heart, the body scarred.

Count the minutes, ticking so slow, you wonder how you got so low.

Standing under this bitter tree , the leaves are falling and so are we .

But wait. But stop. There must be more. You’re more than this, you need to fight this war .

Lets stop now and turn around. Lets cut this bitter tree to the ground .

Look in our hands is a seed of hope, Its here to fix that downward slope.

This seed needs sunshine and needs rain, It needs our laughter to help kill this pain.

There’s a strength inside that used to shine. You need to stop, to realign

You’ve forgotten now, but it’s still inside , we have to help it not want to hide .

Your mind is playing tricks on you , it’s disguising now what’s real and true.

Is this what we should teach our young? That when crisis calls, we should all just run?

I know deep down behind the wall , you have the strength to stop the fall .

Your fight inside it needs a shove . Your fight inside it needs your love.

Lost in this mind of hurt and pain , shines a soul that will live again .

Don’t give up the will to live , you have so much more inside to give.

Walk with me to plant the new seed, I'm here beside you whenever you need .

Breathe, my love, release the air. Inhale and exhale you can get there .

Breathe, my love, please breathe.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Persephone Mackinnon

I have a Bachelor of Arts double degree in childrens literature and writing. I’ve been writing fiction and non-fiction, poems and so on since I was little. It’s my passion and I love it! Also a mum to 3 amazing daughters.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Persephone MackinnonWritten by Persephone Mackinnon

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.