Poets logo

Red to Blue

Welcome to my mind.

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 2 min read
9
Image created with NightCafe

"Who are you?" said Blue to Red

"Red" said Red to Blue

"How do you do?" said Blue to Red

"Happy but fierce, how about you?" said Red to Blue

"I'm sad and Blue, can I sit with you?" Blue asked Red

"Sure" said Red to Blue with a warm smile

"I don't know what to do" said Blue, looking at Red

"That's okay" said Red to Blue

"Sometimes the best thing to do

Is nothing at all, that's what I do

When I am feeling as blue as you

We can sit, we can talk or say nothing at all" said Red to Blue

"There are days when I feel so mighty and tall

But today, I feel so worthless and small" sighed Blue, feeling the warmth from Red

"That's okay" said Red to Blue.

"We all feel like that sometimes.

Do you want to know a secret?

What I do when I feel like you?"

Blue pricked his ears and looked up eagerly into her warm pools of red

"Please Red, anything to help the dark thoughts in my head"

"Well. I try to remember, the good I've done

I've made mistakes, there are many stupid things I've done

Thoughtless, unkind and even cruel things

The memories of those are like mental stings

Instead of focusing on the bad, I focus on the good

So, If you want my advice dear Blue, look for the good"

"I am not sure I have any good in me, though" said Blue to Red, with a heavy sigh

"Nonsense. Everyone has good in them somewhere

you need to look for it" said Red to Blue

"Okay" said Blue to Red

"I love my blue skin" offered Blue to Red

"Good start" said Red to Blue

"I care" said Blue to Red

"You do and that is important" said Red to Blue

"Remember and keep note of the good in you" said Red to Blue

*

Thank you for taking a trip into my mind. I hope you enjoyed this poem. If you did, please click the heart, leave a comment or both. I appreciate hearing what people thought about my work. You can also subscribe if you are that way inclined.

You may also enjoy the following pieces:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentaryinspirational
9

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Red is blue and blue is red, we just have to get them straight within our heads. Ha, I rhymed too. Loved it.

  • I really liked this poem about two of my favourite colours… such an encouraging ending with wise advice for us all. Thanks!

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    I love this! I don't know how you thought of such a unique idea to personify colours but it worked brilliantly! I pictured red as fire and blue as water, where red is usually considered violent but can bring warmth and comfort, and blue is considered soothing but secretly has a destructive streak she feels guilty about. That's probably a weird take on it but it just sprung vividly to mind. I love Blue saying 'I care'. I felt the weight in those words because them in themselves, despite being a good thing, can indeed make anyone feel blue.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    So simple, yet so profound. Well done.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Too clever

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I loved this so much! Such a simple story that speaks volumes. Fantastic :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.