Poets logo

Breathe.

Poetry about moving on and letting go

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Breathe.
Photo by Eli DeFaria on Unsplash

I am getting older by every year

But I don’t care at all

I still think of you from time to time

Even after years of being apart

You gave me your silence as a sign that you didn’t want me anymore

And even if my heart is broken

I knew there was no point in arguing with you

So I allowed you to leave and go wherever you wanted to be

After years went by, I regretted it

But there’s nothing I can do about it now

You’re gone and I’m still here

When I saw the photos of us in my room

Hanging on a string upon the wall

Just like that, all of the memories flashed through my mind

Your laugh, your voice, your scent

And your beautiful smile

All of them slipped free from just a whisper of your name

I never felt my heart break so hard before

I brushed my hand against the pictures

And laughed softly at the memories

Then I smiled, as much as they hurt, they were precious to me

I loved you so much, to the point that I was willing to give you up in the end

But I know there will be a time when I have to let you go

And to just breathe.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.