Poets logo

Breaking the Ice

Originally Published in Survive Zine, 2014

By Kiki Le TigrePublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I was once with a boy

Who loved me so much

He stole my shoes

So I could never leave.

And I, defiant

To my own detriment,

Stormed out in socks,

In winter, in knee high snow.

There was a hill I had to climb

To get home, slicked with ice.

It took fingernails and toe nails,

Knees smashing footholds,

All my might to rise above.

And as I stood triumphantly

Skin bright red with effort,

And frostbite burning

Feet in unimaginable pain,

I met my city through

Points of fingers aimed at me,

And staring eyes wondering why

This crazy girl had no shoes.

The boy caught up to me and,

With tears and with shame

I turned back to him for comfort.

Down the hill, away from my city's gaze.

His actions became my sins.

The village cast its stones.

With their help,

I could have walked without shame.

I had already broken the ice.

***

Original written for Survive Zine, published in support of The Walk of No Shame.

social commentary

About the Creator

Kiki Le Tigre

Kiki Le Tigre is a part-time poet, part-time human, committed to honest self expression. This expression is made public in hopes of inspiring others, or creating a connection point for those who may feel lost. Email: [email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️✌️Nice

Kiki Le TigreWritten by Kiki Le Tigre

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.