Poets logo

Bread in Captivity

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
Bread in Captivity
Photo by Nowshad Arefin on Unsplash

the pigeon has the entire sky

to soar, explore, to glide and fly

and yet he circles a small box

where most of the day he is locked,

prisoner to the hand that feeds,

prisoner to his basic needs

if only he could learn to choose

to trust beyond man’s evil ruse ,

to feel and know the god within

beyond his captors evil sin

to trust in his own knowing heart

to fly far away, to depart,

recreating his life as art

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Sadly inspired by the wooden boxes of pigeons I have seen everywhere in Sri Lanka. In my Colombo house there was a park next door where locals kept around 12 pigeons.

The box must have been sweltering and stinking under the beating sun and air temperature of 30-35°. The captors would come and let them out to fly for around an hour a day at sunset. They would tire quickly because their wings were weak, so they would land on my balcony.

I cried a lot of tears over those pigeons. I cried a lot of tears over how cruel and ignorant people are. I also cried a lot for myself. I realised they were a mirror for me. How my own wings were so weakened by my lifetime of prisons.

How I had spent a lifetime trading my birthright of freedom for food and shelter security. Born into captivity and programmed to believe I had no choice but to exist this way. Reliant upon my captor to tell me when I could eat, when I could fly, when I should return.

And when you are born into such a life, even though you know deep in your heart it is all wrong - you have been made so weak and have so much fear that you don’t break free. You perceive that you can’t. You don’t trust in the goodness of the world, or god, when this is your normal. How can you?

And yet the whole world is right there. All it takes is for them to not return to the cage. To do the scary thing. To be completely exposed. To courageously declare that one day in freedom is worth more than a 1000 years in captivity. And never return.

sad poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is so powerfully metaphorical and well written. I'm sorry that you related to them so much.

  • I'm so sorry for all the tears that you cried. For those pigeons and yourself. I'm sorry this happened to you. And to them. I'm so sorry I'm not able to help you or those pigeons in any way 😭😭😭😭😭

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    More wonderful work Kayleigh. I’m sorry you went through something terrible but God you bring out the beauty in hope. “All it takes is not to return to the cage.” Such an inspiring an truthful line, it’s a wonder why so many of us need to hear that

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    This is so heartfelt! I'm so amazed how you took this story and made it into such beautiful poetry. Well done.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    💙

  • StoryholicFinds8 months ago

    love it! ❤️

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    “recreating his life as art” beautifully said.

Kayleigh Fraser ✨Written by Kayleigh Fraser ✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.