Poets logo

Bread & Jam for Myrtle

.

By JPublished 2 months ago β€’ Updated 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snacktime Sonata Challenge
8
Bread Wall - Roni Weinstein

Grandma Myrtle

takes her toast burnt

but she slathers it with jam

to remind her

sacrifices

need not equal pain.

I would eat mine golden

drizzle honey over butter

under peanut butter under

sliced bananas topped with cinnamon

(when we had the money).

When we didn't, which was mostly,

I would scrape

brown sugar from the bottom

of a bowl of rice milk

turned to syrup from

too sweet puffed wheat.

When I moved out,

I stopped eating breakfast.

Black coffee and cigarettes,

(because who has time)

replaced my few creature comforts

('cause luxury's just that).

When I grew up,

I stopped smoking cigarettes;

took my coffee dark brown

(most days),

sometimes even sweet,

but breakfast

still meant struggle most days,

because I was still so tired

from overly busy dreams.

When I wake up

at the crack of dawn for no good reason

I imagine

all the items

in the fridge I'm going to cook

before falling back asleep.

When I go to work (late)

at the place that doesn't need me

as much as I think I need it,

I order toast for staff meal;

leave it under

the heat lamp until it's charred

and use it

to scoop jam out of packets

and think of Myrtle.

She would have at least

sat down to eat.

When I was small,

I used to read

'Bread and Jam for Frances'.

I could still

use practice

with the odd string bean.

Stream of ConsciousnessMental HealthFamily
8

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard8 days ago

    Great poem! Love how in built from childhood nostalgia to current day circumstances

  • This was a great read J, and I like how it all ties together at the ed. Some very familiar notes here with rushed breakfasts before work, or scraping brown sugar from the cereal bowl. Touching, and nicely doneπŸ€—

  • Suze Kay28 days ago

    This was so heartfelt and moving. I feel I know you better, or can pretend we were the same person, after reading this poem. I love your descriptions and your asides. Beautiful work, J!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your win! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    I can visualize every description you laid bare on the table, which is one of my favorite things about great poetry. Your piece creates memories as I read it and unfolds the layers under which my own memories were hiding. Lovely work here. Congratulations on your placement in the Snacktime Sonata challenge!

  • Seems so sad when we don't even have time for breakfast. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    I loved your descriptions! I like burned toast with peanut butter.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.