Poets logo

Brain Fog

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
"Cloud Face" by Aykut Aydoğdu

Imagining you is quite difficult

Is this prosopagnosia’s onset?

A face forgotten suffers an insult

What did not coalesce, can we forget?

The shape and hue of your eyes I can’t see

You might vote Green, or Libertarian

Your ambiguity fascinates me

Are you a spy, or a librarian?

Your favorite dish could be quail or kale

You might read Dostoevsky or Dan Brown;

Cirrus or nimbostratus is your tale

How to pin a cloudy countenance down?

If something troubles you, do you make rain?

Nimbostratus, you cloud my humble brain

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Silver Serpent Books4 months ago

    This line in particular, "How to pin a cloudy countenance down?" was incredibly powerful but this whole poem was amazing! Loved reading it.

  • I have face blindness too! I would remember people's names very well. Like for example, if someone from my new job says their name is Rachel, I would remember it. Then after a few minutes, I'd look around and realise that I'd forgotten who is Rachel and how she looks like, lol. "If something troubles you, do you make rain?" I loved this line the most because it's natural for clouds to make rain and having a cloud for a face, the rain could be tears!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I have issues with facial recognition, and I love that line - what did not coalesce....

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I love all the reference to clouds. I have read both Dostoevsky and Dan Brown and thoroughly enjoyed them both. Could I be the lady of the clouds?

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.