Poets logo

Box of Crayons

a poem

By L. M. WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You can be anything you want to be

that's what they told me.

So, on Monday I'm orange

like a bright curious bubble of light floating along, wandering, no exploring, the world around me. Everything appearing bright and shiny and new. The possibilities near

endless.

Waking on Tuesday I'm the tantalizing shine of red maraschino cherry.

Just as tasty. Just as fun.

Just as

brown as a rotting bruise on a piece of fruit come Wednesday.

It's not that they did anything.

It's not that I did anything either.

It just. . . happened. As if waking, moving, existing tarnished the brilliant colors inside of my soul until they all mixed together and spilled out in a blah of being.

Thursday is black like a moonless night with no stars.

Black like the tar-esque charcoal mask I smear across my skin because it's "purifying" and will "cleanse" the dirt on the inside. I don't think it goes deep enough.

Friday is white.

It's three centimeters long and two centimeters wide and one centimeter thick and goes down easy with a cold glass of water.

It'll help you feel better.

It'll make you you again.

They said,

so you can get back to being whatever you want to be.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

L. M. Williams

I'm a self-published author that enjoys writing fantasy/supernatural/romance novels and occasionally dabble in poetry and realistic fiction. If not writing, I'm a freelance artist and a full time mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.