Poets logo

Bosoms of the Earth Mother

Reflections on My Journey in Peru

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8

To live you must die before you are dead,

And to die when you die, do so before, they have said.

I walked with the giants, gods of the past,

I’ve seen what they’ve hewn from the great mountain’s path.

Macchu Pichu towered like a crown in the sky,

Yet to the Temple of Breasts drawn was I.

There she stood, but a carving in rock,

Struck from the ground like a flaming shock.

I wandered around you, gazed at your eyes,

Peering out from the past, brave and yet shy.

Milky white bosoms honor the mother,

Of all of mankind, every sister and brother.

She honors us all with her life-giving love,

And nurtures the Earth from the heavens above.

Yet not for some sexual arousal, her breasts are shown,

Only the truth she displays to guide us all home.

Awaken your spirit and fly to the skies,

And be with the ancients, those who’ve gone by.

Don’t grovel and bend down to the Earth,

Look upwards to heaven, be filled with her mirth.

**************************************************************

Here are some of my personal pictures of my trek up Macchu Picchu :) I was forever impacted by the odd breasts carved in the ground near one of the buildings on the hillside.

I hope you enjoy :) Please let me know if you enjoyed :)

nature poetry
8

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    That must have been an awe-inspiring trip! Your words, again, are so good - the way you use language is almost mystical - I really enjoy your work!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Beautiful poetry. Thank for capturing and sharing this powerful experience! ❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Such a gorgeous and powerful tribute to your journey! Peru is so amazingly beautiful. I've been, but never made it to Machu Picchu. I really regret it and this poem is an inspiration to go back! ❤️

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Fantastically written. I really enjoyed reading this one. Great job!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful poem!!! 💕😊💖💕

  • Thank you for sharing your journey like this, your images are amazing

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow! I'm so amazed you were able to have this experience! The pictures are amazing and your poetry was so lovely to go along with it. I loved that last line especially :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.