Poets logo

To the Praise of Everyman

A Short Poem of Gratitude

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
To the Praise of Everyman
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

As Dante passed through the woods of the world,

He met the man of whom stories were told,

Virgil, he was, in the days of his life,

Yet in death, he wandered with shades who were rife.

To guide young Dante on paths that are right,

Was the mission of lonely Virgil that night.

He met the man and took up his hand,

And guided him, led him, to the Great Promised Land,

Yet who was with Virgil to guide him in Death?

To comfort him in times of Distress?

Did ever he cry alone in the Abyss?

And ponder his state in the world of Iblis?

I wonder these things alone in my room,

And think I'd like to meet with him soon,

Yet the Aenid is all I have of this soul,

Before he departed and went to Hell's door.

Grateful am I for pen and paper,

For it gives me a chance to commune with the Maker,

Not god in the sense of Priests and Popes,

But rather the Poet, who always brought hope.

****************************************************

I remember I bought an old copy of Virgil's Aeneid from a used bookseller. The copy was tattered and torn, but the inscription always made me feel loved:

"Every Man, I will go with thee,

To be Thy Guide,

In Thy Most Need, To Go By Thy Side."

artnature poetry
8

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I love the depth of your expressions!! Great job!

  • Excellent words and a wonderful poetic journey

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Well written! Thank you for taking us on a journey!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I couldn't help smiling as I read this pondering poem - I felt like I was going along for the journey. :)

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    That was really fantastic, Emily! I felt like I was on a journey. The last line just brought it home. Loved it!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Well written and good rhymes. Good job!

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    Wow! That was amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.