Poets logo

Born Broken

A Ballad of Inadequacy

By Kenneth cruzPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
3

Born Broken

Why, I ask God, why

Why was I born broken

A dollar store gift with parts that didn’t fit, sometimes I feel like a token

Not like you and the next

Longing to be like the rest

To be loved and adorned like a treasure chest

I’m Vincent van Gogh

Not appreciated until I'm gone

Yet I remain strong

Trying to display

Strength and art

Till the day I part

But lack of exposure and love

Have me feeling like a void check torn apart

Some say we signed up for this experience

If so I wonder why I’d do this to my own heart

sad poetryMental HealthheartbreakFree VerseBallad
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gloria Penelope12 days ago

    Nice poem. I used to ask myself a lot of questions. Feeling as if I was born with bad luck. I love your poem Kenneth.

  • "Some say we signed up for this experience If so I wonder why I’d do this to my own heart" Many have said that to me too and I too wonder the same thing because like why would I wanna do this to myself. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.