Poets logo

Borders

I found you wandering

By Rebecca RidsdalePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Borders
Photo by Greg Bulla on Unsplash

I find myself on a barren cliff,

awash with wishes and promises,

look downs and let downs

a life-lived behind hollowed borders

stained blood on walls,

that make believe of freedom

"I found you wandering", you say

black feet on white sand,

white sun on tanned skin

"are you lost?",

"can I help?",

Help who? Who am I?

barley human

a stain on the consciousness

white privilege, truth-be-told

black mark on the greenback

"I was lost, but now I am found",

on the edge of a cliff,

arm-stretched freedom below

"stay here", you say

"you are safe",

"you are loved",

"you are human",

for a moment,

I stay

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Ridsdale

she/her

Earthy and funny. Intense and structured. Poetry is passion. The rest is practice.

Owner of Four Truth Wellness and Soul Travel Hypnosis

https://www.fourtruthhypnosis.com/ and https://soultravelhypnosis.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    ❤ that landed with certainty. Love your sincerity.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.