Poets logo

Body of Water

Wave: a conversation over you

By Vinnie QuanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Receding Tide

Here's the situation

If we were minuscule planktons

I'd get really bored over endless dates watching the blue wall rise and fall, like reruns on a television screen

If we were spineless tadpoles

We would be swept away and separated

Like peer pressure telling you how to run your life

If we were sea anemones

We'd feel the wave running through our little fingers, coexisting on separate rocks,

Separate state

If we were really selfish humans, like we often are, we would ride the waves, you and I, until our stomach churns. Ignoring everyone else, while the ecosystem, as we know it, falls apart.

Solid cobalt glistening under the moonlit sky.

This is the part where things get weird,

It always does.

Dear Humans,

I always thought that we could have been together.

It was knowing you

I brushed over and studied your feet on sinking sand castles

It was good times over sea glass and bonfires

Although, I found reminensce of you to be disturbing.

your condescending trash talking

Utterly Inconsiderate

Don't forget my strength

I'd sweep away your homes in a heartbeat

If I really wanted to

It's not a threat, but a fact

Regardless, I want to be impressionable

Even when you have moved on.

My emotions...motions will cling on,

Nicely asking, "Don't walk away"

Minutes, hours, days, years, decades, centuries, history, infinitely

All I want you to do is to remember our time together while you still can. Can't you still feel the ground under your sole

Sway?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Vinnie Quan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.