Poets logo

Blue-Jay

When I Fell in Love

By Elizabeth NabretPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

This morning you asked me

if I could write a piece about the bird

In the pine beside our tent

I can

And you began to sing

a song meant for the blue jay

With wings as clear and shimmering

as the sky before the sun has risen over the horizon

And I looked into your eyes

and knew that I was in love

And I’m not sure that I didn’t know it before

But the blue jay singing in the tree

Was a sign

And it flew away with a soft flutter of

gentle lightness

While a smile played across your dirty face

You saw it in my eyes

and

you kissed me

And my heart felt full

There in the woods beside you

With the blue-jay in the pine beside us.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Nabret

I am a lover of the written arts, and think that expression through word is important. I am a teacher, a poet, a lover, an ally, a musician, and story teller, and I will search for and try to write stories that inspire.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.