Poets logo

Blooming Flowers

And Shears

By DCMJ unsilencedPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Blooming Flowers
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

The World Values Only Parts of My Identity

Cis gendered

Age of Autonomy

Racial Majority

In my dominant community.

Ethnic majority

In my dominant community.

Occupational History – Built Up to Professional

I Must Value the Rest

Female

Youth

Melanin

Culture

Work

In the Eyes of the World

My Parents

Were Willing

And Able

To Support Me.

The World Does Not See All.

Securely Attached

To Siblings and Father.

What Happened to My Mother?

I Found

Peer Support

Elder Support

Responsive Support

Occupational Opportunity

Occupational Community

Child Care Support

Systemic Support

Medical Support for Family

Partner Support for Co-Parenting

Partner Support for Occupational Opportunity

I Gained

Access to Care that is Responsive to Self and Family

And is Specialized

and Non-pharmacological

Responsive Spiritual Support for Grief

Occupationally-Informed Parental Advocacy Success

Next Gen Engagement

Supported by Occupation

Partner and Peer Recognition

Contributing to Leadership Experience

Financial Validation

This is the type of environment

Where I have blossomed.

Temporarily.

This is where I center my vision

for my environment

that helps me blossom,

temporarily.

Sustainability.

That’s Another Story.

Seeking All that Support.

Was Exhausting.

The World.

Never Valued

All of Me.

The World.

Does Not See All.

The World.

Does Not Know All.

It’s Up to Me.

To Learn.

To Value.

All of Me.

How to Feed.

All of Me.

Sustainably.

Those Shears.

I See Them Now.

I Know What They Mean.

I Have More Life to Live.

Those Shears.

They Want to Take My Beauty.

To Another Place.

Where It Will Die.

Prematurely.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.