Poets logo

Bleeding Paint

Poetry in movement

By Ellie ChristiePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Since I've Seen You Smile by Ellie Christie

Brushes stroke my hair

Eyes paint my canvas but it’s still bare

I feel the colour as it washes

Down the canvas the white wave crashes

Rosie lips are plastered till cold

Broken by red dipped in gold

My pupils dart side by side

Trying to go against the tide

I rely on muscle memory

To engage in colour comradery

Complete the portrait just in time

To change the picture in my mind

Hour pass the colours bleed

Green runs into my bloodstream

Red eyes are loud in my ears

Screaming for something to just appear

I feel the paint with my eyes

The movement has me hypnotized

I breathe in the fumes

And the picture starts to bloom

I brand it with the oil of my skin

I let it stain my old purple linen

As if this will preserve it in my life

Before it’s put away and I wash my pallet knife

art
1

About the Creator

Ellie Christie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.