Poets logo

Black People - Us

Us

By Susan WilkinsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Peaceful - Artist: Susan Wilkins

When I think of Black People – Us, I think of patchwork quilts and gardens. Different colors, different textures, different heights and thicknesses coming together to form quilts and gardens and Black People – Us.

When I see Black People – Us. I see from stark white to jet-black, from smooth as silk to fuzzy as wool. I see tall as trees to short as stumps, strong as the mighty oak to fragile as butterfly wings. All of this is Black People – Us.

When I hear Black People – Us. I hear from gospel to opera. I hear rap and jazz, blues, r&b, country and, yes, rock & roll and heavy metal. I hear ideas and opinions – some good, some bad. Some the same a lot are different. Diverse – Black People – Us.

Black People – Us.

Tall and Short.

Good and Bad.

Rich and Poor.

Dark and Light.

Strong and Weak.

Loud and Quiet.

Smart and Dumb.

Black – Yes.

People – Definitely.

Us – Together.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Susan Wilkins

I write stories and poetry. Lately I have put up a science fiction story and a children's story. I love to write and Vocal has given me a platform to do that. P.S. I love reader comments! Let me know what you think. Please enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.