Poets logo

Black I Am

By: Karlton. A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo By A. Little Summer 2020

Black I Am

By: Karlton A. Armistad [In Tribute to Black History Months 2020 & 2021]

1.

I glisten and shine in the golden sunlight; because black I am. My smile is bright, the melanin in my beautiful skin carries memories of centuries of oppression, lies and deception unshackled by the payment of a heavy price by my ancestors.

2.

Sacrifices, many-many sacrifices made to allow me to walk free down any street, vote and love with heart not whip, and yet You still see me as Property, because black I am. Some things change, while others stay the same to ensure I can’t be President; Prime Minister, we see you and your sinister plans and dirty hands covered in the blood of my brothers and sisters.

3.

You place limits on our resilience; we grow and rise in full resistance so you know You will not hold us down anymore. You ask to touch my hair as if I am a fluffy pet, I ask you to respect my space, as you ain’t seen my best yet. I will no longer let you rob my race of our identity, respect me, and stop projecting your insecurities on path, so I can give all I have, as black & proud; I am.

4.

2020…2021; and you still see the need to call me dirty and unworthy; why? Do we not run businesses, win medals and contribute to the growth of science. I have never seen you and yours for anything other than you are; your ancestors raped us, drowned us and branded us black tar. Take my hand, and accept a better future can only happen, if we let go of judgement & persecution by colour of skin. Stand with me, see a better way to live, without seeing us both damned. Remove your prejudice and see me; black as I am.

End.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.